You are here: Board and committees

The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the charity. It is responsible for ensuring that the company operates properly and effectively. All members of the Board are paid-up members of UNA-UK.

The Board meets approximately four times per annum to ensure that the organisation is being effectively managed. At these meetings, the Board agrees the strategic priorities and policies of the organisation; agrees objectives, priorities and plans; monitors progress; makes decisions and ratifies decisions made elsewhere.

The Articles of Association set out the number of directors, how they are to be elected and what terms of office apply. A full list of UNA-UK's Trustees is available here.

Finance & Governance Committee 

This committee is responsible for reviewing:

  • the financial, management and investment affairs of the charity on a regular basis
  • internal financial controls and procedures
  • systems for assessment and management of risk
  • the integrity of financial statements
  • the external audit strategy

It also takes on other functions delegated to it by the Board, and makes recommendations to the Board on any action needed.

Members of the committee are:

Frances Chambers - Member of the Committee

Cecilian Cran - Member of the Committee

Lyn Hopkins - Member of the Committee

Tim Jarman - Member of the Committee

Buchan Scott - Member of the Committee

Naima Siddiqi – Chair of the Committee and in this capacity, also Vice-Chair and Honorary Treasurer of the UNA-UK Board

Lord Wood of Anfield – Member of the Committee, also Chairman of UNA-UK

UNA-UK’s Executive Director, Deputy Directory (Finance & Governance) and Deputy Director (Outreach) attend meetings.

Conference Committee

The Conference Committee is responsible for overseeing the organisation of the Policy Conference and its procedures (click here for the draft standing orders of this conference).

Members of the committee are:

Andrew Boakes - Chairman and member of Board

Tim Jarman

Clare Everett

Sally Glendinning

Enid Lodge


UNA-UK’s Outreach & Campaigns officer attends the meetings.